posting links
Posted: 02 December 2008 07:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1228
Joined  2007-03-21

For most of us there is the <a> button on our editing screens.  When clicking on that we get a pop-up screen that allows us to enter a URL no matter how long.  The next screen will ask for a “title of the link” and we enter the descriptive terms.

Another way of doing this is to highlight the descriptive term and then hit the <a> button.  The second pop-up window will have the highlighted string as the descriptive term and you just accept it.

what about other browsers?

I didn’t in any way understand Faldage’s approach.

It is possible to use Metamark’s service here.  Go to their website, pop in the long url and post it as I have posted samclem’s below:

http://xrl.us/oy67h

That may be a work-around for those whose browsers don’t support these options here.  I dunno

[ Edited: 02 December 2008 07:27 PM by Oecolampadius ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2008 07:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1228
Joined  2007-03-21

You can also add explicit carriage returns
when posting after someone has put in a long url.

I think Faldage meant that after you copy the raw url into your note, you can enter carriage returns at appropriate places so that the frame doesn’t stretch past the screen-width.

like this perhaps:

http://books.google.com/books?id=oNsNAAAAQAAJ&pg=PA150&dq=burgoo++date:1700-1745&lr=&num=30
&as_brr=0#PPA150,M1

In fact, this may be what SamClem did.  But then are you forced to cut and paste the url into a new tab or browser window?

edit: it works as Faldage suggests.  I put in a return after the number 30 and it worked.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2008 10:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1888
Joined  2007-02-19

For most of us there is the <a> button on our editing screens.  When clicking on that we get a pop-up screen that allows us to enter a URL no matter how long.  The next screen will ask for a “title of the link” and we enter the descriptive terms.

Thank you, oecolampadius! At last I understand what is meant by “the title of the link”. I think I might even be able now to post a link in this way!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 04:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1129
Joined  2007-02-14

I didn’t intend that anyone put a carriage return in the url itself.  What I meant in the part of my post where I suggested putting in the carriage return was that, when someone else has put in a long url and the text in all the other posts extends beyond the right side of the screen, that subsequent posters would put the carriage return in their text to prevent it from also extending beyond the screen edge.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  47
Joined  2008-03-07
Faldage - 03 December 2008 04:11 AM

I didn’t intend that anyone put a carriage return in the url itself.  What I meant in the part of my post where I suggested putting in the carriage return was that, when someone else has put in a long url and the text in all the other posts extends beyond the right side of the screen, that subsequent posters would put the carriage return in their text to prevent it from also extending beyond the screen edge.

Sounds like a screen wrap problem.  I have this when trying to read some of the ADS archive posts.  I think someone(Grant Barrett?) told me how to prevent it, but I’m out the door right now.  Maybe tonight.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  231
Joined  2007-02-23

First a nit; with my configuration XP and ff3.x, if I mouse over <b> <i> <u> <img> and quote I get a drop-down explaining that it is bold, italic etc. but with @ and <a> I get no drop-down, so at first blush it is not obvious what these are to effect.

Now, to make linking really simple, if one has Firefox, just use Copy as HTML.

To paraphrase a once popular TV character called Mr. T ‘’Pity the poor fool who don’t have Firefox’’.

If the above light-hearted kibitzing is inappropriate advise and I will delete it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1228
Joined  2007-03-21

so at first blush it is not obvious what these are to effect.

I raised this in the beta stage of this board but was told that anyone who has learned html language, this is one of the first things you come across.  But if you haven’t?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

And if you have, you don’t need to be told what <b>, <i> and <u> do.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2008 04:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1228
Joined  2007-03-21

Exactly to the point Doc!

First a nit; with my configuration XP and ff3.x, if I mouse over <b> <i> <u> <img> and quote I get a drop-down explaining that it is bold, italic etc. but with @ and <a> I get no drop-down, so at first blush it is not obvious what these are to effect.

I don’t think that your configuration of XP and Foxfire have anything to do with the mouse-over information.  I think that this “drop down” information is actually embedded (or not embedded) in the html language in the page itself.  I think it’s called “alternative somethingorother” and, on the pages I’ve done, the composer/encoder has to enter that information for it to show on mouse-over.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2008 05:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  407
Joined  2007-02-14

I took a look at the markup. The first six a elements have a title attribute which is set to the text one sees when one rolls over the hyperlink. The mail, link, and close tags hyperlinks lack that attribute. (The alt attribute is part of the img element.) So lack of roll-over information is because whoever coded the form, dropped off the title tag and not to a feature or bug in a user agent (browser).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2008 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  590
Joined  2007-02-22
Oecolampadius - 02 December 2008 07:20 PM

For most of us there is the <a> button on our editing screens.  When clicking on that we get a pop-up screen that allows us to enter a URL no matter how long.  The next screen will ask for a “title of the link” and we enter the descriptive terms.

Another way of doing this is to highlight the descriptive term and then hit the <a> button.  The second pop-up window will have the highlighted string as the descriptive term and you just accept it.

what about other browsers?

In Iceweasel, if you do that, nothing happens.

It is possible to use Metamark’s service here.  Go to their website, pop in the long url and post it as I have posted samclem’s below:

http://xrl.us/oy67h

That may be a work-around for those whose browsers don’t support these options here.  I dunno

Or use the Firefox “Copy as HTML link” function except this appears to refuse to copy off the browser bar and only copy existing links (at least with Iceweasel, anyway).

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ Combativeness      Twitter Feed ››