Balashon - Hebrew Language Detective
Posted: 26 March 2007 05:07 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2344
Joined  2007-01-30

Even though I have no Hebrew, I found this blog, Balashon, Hebrew Language Detective, engrossing.

I’ll let the author introduce the blog himself:

“I’m a native English speaker, but live in Israel and love the Hebrew language. On this site I investigate Hebrew - Biblical, Talmudic, Medieval and Modern - including slang; related languages like Aramaic, Arabic, Akkadian and Yiddish; and how foreign languages like Greek, Latin and English have entered Hebrew - and how Hebrew has affected those languages as well. I discuss the meanings of words, with a focus on etymology. I’m not a professional linguist, and will be using this blog to explore my own questions, and I welcome yours as well.”

For an aperitif, try this fascinating entry on Hebrew numbers.

Posted: 26 March 2007 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3525
Joined  2007-01-29

Very nice!

Posted: 26 March 2007 10:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  710
Joined  2007-02-07

LH, I believe you once described aldi as “the indefatigable aldiboronti.” How very apt. Once again, aldi, a great find. Interesting even to those of us with no knowledge of Hebrew.

Posted: 26 March 2007 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-01-29

I believe I did, and he’s given me no reason to change the description.  I have no idea how he does it, but I’m glad he does.

Posted: 27 March 2007 11:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2032
Joined  2007-02-19