Adding HTML
Posted: 14 February 2007 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

Over in the sandbox, I’ve been trying to figure out how to do superscripts and subscripts, or more generally, how to add HTML commands that aren’t provided as buttons.  I’m not having any luck.  At EZboard, you could manually enter HTML commands such as <sub> and <sup> and they would duly affect the appearance of the posted message.  I’ve tried with both angle brackets and square brackets without luck.  Does ExpressionEngine not allow any HTML formatting beyond that provided in the buttons?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2007 02:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1363
Joined  2007-01-29

How do you make a link work here, anyone?

(Please don’t say “whip it").

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2007 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

I haven’t tried it yet but as I recall from earlier discussions you use the <a> button.

Bartleby

Seems to work just like the “link” button back at EZboard.  A drop-down asks you to enter the URL, then the name.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2007 05:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4478
Joined  2007-01-03

Any other desired tags besides <sup> and <sub>?

Changing what’s allowed is fairly complex and I don’t want to muck about more than I have to. I’d like to get it down once and forget it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2007 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

Well, as long as you’re at it, I just recently learned about strikeout (<strike> or <s>) and I’d be happy if that was available.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 February 2007 10:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1363
Joined  2007-01-29

I think I know what I did wrong.  You can’t see the < a > button in Fast Reply, only in Post A New Reply.

Google test.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 April 2007 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

Checking to see if superscript and subscript ever got added to the allowable HTML
1<super>1</super>
1[super]1[/super]
1<sup>1</sup>
1[sup]1[/sup]
1<sub>1</sub>
1[sub]1[/sub]

edit: no

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 April 2007 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3337
Joined  2007-01-29

I too would like sub and sup, and strikethrough would be nice too (comes in handy for little jokes).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 April 2007 05:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4478
Joined  2007-01-03

I would amend my previous comment from “fairly complex” to “extremely complex.” There’s a lot of PHP scripting that needs to be done and it is really tricky to do it without screwing up everything else. Don’t look for these changes anytime soon.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 April 2007 04:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3337
Joined  2007-01-29

Does [small]small[/small] work?

On preview: apparently not.  That would be nice to have as well.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 April 2007 04:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2745
Joined  2007-01-31

But you can change size using the “Size” window in the “Font Formattng” bar. The actual HTML commands it inserts for ”Small” are “size=1” and “/size”.

edit: corrected “is” to “are”

[ Edited: 15 April 2007 04:31 PM by Dr. Techie ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 April 2007 06:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3337
Joined  2007-01-29

Aha! I did not know that!

*bows to the Doc’s superior techitude*

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ Made it!      Unreadable Email ››