Posted: 24 June 2007 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2007-06-03

In the thread about “big bug”, languagehat posted this:

languagehat - 24 June 2007 02:21 PM

OED:

cheese, n. 2

[Of doubtful origin; but prob. a. Pers. and Urdu chīz ‘thing’. Yule says such expressions used to be common among young Anglo-Indians as ‘My new Arab is the real chīz’, i.e. ‘the real thing’.]

I was interested in this because my Dad is Anglo-Indian, and it got me wondering about whether there were other terms from this source. One I know of is “brinjal” for eggplant/aubergine. My Dad always calls this “brinjal”, but when I started learning Hindi and hanging around with a lot of Punjabi friends, “brinjal” was unknown to any of them. A subsequent search suggested that word came via Portuguese and was more or less exclusively used by Anglo-Indians. Subsequently, I’ve heard the word used in some Tamizh films I own, but certainly in the Indic-language parts of India, “brinjal” does not seem to be common among non Anglo-Indians. As for “chiz”, I’m going to pay more attention to the Hinglish in Hindi films now, because although I have heard “chiz” used for the English “thing”, “baat” would be more common in a Hinglish phrase from what I’ve gathered. Maybe this reflects an Anglo-Indian leaning toward Urdu rather than Hindi? Certainly it was Urdu that my Dad learned at boarding school in the 1930s and early 40s. If anybody has other examples of identifying Anglo-Indian vocabulary or usage, I’d love to know of them.

[ Edited: 24 June 2007 04:26 PM by maxqnz ]

Posted: 24 June 2007 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2007-02-23

There are quite a few, of course, not all of them currently frequent in conventional English.

I like “barnshoot” (also “banchoot"), which Partridge says is mild or light in English.

Posted: 24 June 2007 03:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Joined  2007-06-03