Meet cute
Posted: 14 December 2012 06:45 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3074
Joined  2007-02-26

I’m new to this phrase, but apparently it has been around since WW2 at least. It is sometimes hyphenated, as meet-cute.

It means an entertaining an amusing or adorable incident in which two people who will ultimately become romantically involved meet for the first time.

They meet, and it’s cute. Meet cute. Seems pretty straightforward, I suppose.

And yet, not. Doesn’t it seem unusual to make a noun phrase from a verb and an adjective like this, with the adjective last? I can’t readily think of any other examples. Quite broke my reading stride.

Posted: 14 December 2012 07:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  350
Joined  2012-01-10

I wonder if “meet” in “meet-cute” is a noun?  Meet can be a noun (as in track meet) but this is rare.  Or perhaps “meet” is a clipping of “meeting” (which would still make it a noun).  Just WAGs, though.

If “meet” is truly a verb, I agree that verb + adjective = noun phrase seems like an odd construction.  I’m sure there are others with that structure, but none spring to mind.  The potential candidates that occurred to me generally involve a word one that can be either a verb or a noun and a word two that can be either an adverb, an adjective, or a preposition, and after some thought I decided that “word one” is actually a noun in every possibility I could came up with.

[edited first sentence from “suspect that” to “wonder if”, and changed it to a question,
to better reflect my level of confidence in this idea]

[ Edited: 14 December 2012 07:50 PM by Svinyard118 ]

Posted: 15 December 2012 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3476
Joined  2007-01-29

"Cute” is not an adjective here, it’s an adverb without the -ly marker.  The phrase “meet cute” is exactly parallel to “go slow.”

Posted: 15 December 2012 04:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRankRank