upper-case
Posted: 03 September 2018 12:56 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4086
Joined  2007-02-26

I previously thought that the “case” in upper-case was the case that means “situation”, “state”.

Turns out that it refers to the physical cases (boxes) used by compositors. The majuscule types were arranged in an upper case, the minuscule in a lower case.

Ha!

I also would probably have figured that the case=situation and case=box were ultimately shades of meaning of a single word. After all, it seems a small semantic leap from one to the other.

But it happens they are separate words with separate origins. The first is from Latin casus meaning situation, and the second is from Latin capsa meaning receptacle.

So much to learn.

Posted: 04 September 2018 04:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  361
Joined  2007-02-24

Don’t feel bad. As a commercial artist, I worked with typesetters for 35 years before retiring, and I thought the same as you. No typesetter ever mentioned that to me.

I’m still learnin, too, thanks to you.

Posted: 05 September 2018 06:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1667
Joined  2007-03-21
Eyehawk - 04 September 2018 04:19 PM

Don’t feel bad. As a commercial artist, I worked with typesetters for 35 years before retiring, and I thought the same as you. No typesetter ever mentioned that to me.

40 or fifty years ago, boxes of type (cases) were long gone. For typesetters to explain “Cases” to you, they would have to have been pretty good historians. Even hot metal type was gone. The Guardian held a mock-funeral for it in 1987.  But even that was well-beyond hand setting type from cases. The typesetters used non-qwerty keyboards to cause type to be set automatically.

Posted: 05 September 2018 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-02-24