Leap year
Posted: 05 February 2008 02:06 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-02-05

Hi. I am an English teacher here in Spain and want to write an article about Leap Year for my students.
I can find loads of information about why we have an extra day every 4 years but cannot find out why “Leap” year.
Does anyone know why? Can anyone help me out?

Thanks

Posted: 05 February 2008 03:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  815
Joined  2007-06-20

The idea, according to the authorities I have consulted (including the Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology) appears to come from the fact that whereas in an “ordinary” year any given date is the next day of the week on from the day of the week it fell on in the previous year - so that June 16 2005 was a Thursday, June 16 2006 was one weekday further on, ie a Friday, June 16 2007 was another weekday further on, ie Saturday - in a “leap” year the dates of the 10 last months in the year all “leap” one further day on, because of the extra day in February so that this year, 2008, June 16 is not on a Sunday but a Monday.

Medieval Latin apparently used a similar expression, saltus lunae, “moon’s jump”, for the 19-yearly omission of a day from the lunar calendar, which was translated into Old English as monan hlyp, “moon’s leap”.

Posted: 05 February 2008 06:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4751
Joined  2007-01-03

The term leap year, however, isn’t recorded in English usage until the late Middle English period. From John de Trevisa’s translation of Polychronicon Ranulphi Higden, 1387:

That tyme Iulius amended the kalender, and fonde the cause of the lepe yere.

As Zythophile mentions, monan hlyp is found in Old English. It appears in AElfric’s De Temporibus Anni, from c.993:

se dæg is gehâten Saltus lune • þæt is ðæs monan hlyp
(the day is called Saltus lune, that is the leap of the moon)