Pregnant Question
Posted: 13 February 2008 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-02-13

Hello.
This is my first time post and the reason I signed up for a user name. I am hoping someone here can help me. I am interested in the connection between a couple spanish and englishwords.

“Question” in spanish is “Pregunta”

“Pregnant” in spanish is Embarassada(sp?)

which would just lead me back to “Embarrassed” in english.

I can make a leap from pregnant to embarrassed which could mean impeading.

Is their a connection of “Preg” linking “Question” to “Pregnant”?

-X

Posted: 13 February 2008 04:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  407
Joined  2007-02-14

No. Spanish preguntar ‘to ask’ is from Latin precontor (precontari) ‘to ask a question’; English pregnant is from Latin (via French) praegnans (-ntis, variant praegnas, -atis) ‘pregnant’. The other pregnant, used in with argument, is from a different Latin word, premo (premere) ‘to press, squeeze’.

Posted: 13 February 2008 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  311
Joined  2007-02-17

embarazado in Spanish is formed

embarazado, da.
(Del part. de embarazar).
1. adj. Dicho de una mujer: preñada. U. t. c. s. f.

embarazar.
(Del port. o leon. embaraçar, der. de baraça, lazo, quizá voz de or. celta; cf. irl. ant. barr, copete).
1. tr. Impedir, estorbar, retardar algo.
2. tr. Dejar encinta a una mujer.
3. prnl. Dicho de una mujer: Quedarse embarazada.
4. prnl. Quedar impedido con cualquier embarazo.

or as babelfish would have it (badly)....

embarrassed, it gives.
(Of part. to embarrass).
1. adj. Said of a woman: pregnant. Or t. c. s. f.

to embarrass. (Of port. or lion to embaraçar, der. of baraça, bow, perhaps voice of or. celta; cf. irl. ant. barr, copete).
1. tr. To prevent, to hinder, to slow down something.
2. tr. To leave pregnant a woman.
3. prnl. Said of a woman: To remain pregnant.
4. prnl. To be crippled with any pregnancy.