Curious about the “characters” box below the compose a message box. 
Posted: 27 March 2008 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2007-02-23

A trivial question. Apparently I am allowed 6000. What happens if I exhaust my aliquot quota .?

[ Edited: 28 March 2008 12:48 PM by droogie ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 March 2008 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1365
Joined  2007-01-29

I guess you just have to continue on another post.

Nitpick: No chemistry buff I, but I’m wondering if “quota” should have been used instead of “aliquot”.  A previous thread mentioning ”aliquot”, fwiw.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 March 2008 07:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4596
Joined  2007-01-03

I’m not sure what exactly happens--I’ve never tested it.

A nice experiment for someone to try. But just don’t send me a 6000 character private message.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 March 2008 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2296
Joined  2007-01-30

Never tried it but I’d imagine its exactly the same thing that happens when your cellphone exceeds the word limit for text messages. All letter keys cease to function and you can only delete words and letters until you’re under the limit again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 March 2008 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4596
Joined  2007-01-03

I just tried it. Aldi was spot on.

Profile