Roger
Posted: 05 March 2007 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2007-02-17

Dave, I read your article on the use of the word “Roger” in radio communications. As a Ham Radio operator my comment is as follows:

Although, according to OED II, the verbal use of “Roger” to indicate a correctly understood message may date to WWII, the use of the letter “R” to indicate the reception of a correct transmission dates back to the 19th century. Telegraphers and later, CW radio operators, used (and still do) “R” to mean: “Received as transmitted”. Since the old phonetic alphabet was Roger for the letter “R”, it is not too much of a stretch to believe that the word “Roger” was used in early voice transmissions, where the reception of a complete communications was iffy, at best. More research needs to be done into Amateur Radio history to verify this, however. I will see if I can find some early records of voice transmissions.

Rich

Edited for clarity.

[ Edited: 06 March 2007 08:15 PM by HZ7N ]

Posted: 05 March 2007 11:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  590
Joined  2007-02-22

Is it true that the expression “over and out” was invented by Hollywood and that no radio operator would ever say it?

Posted: 06 March 2007 07:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4740
Joined  2007-01-03

What entry in the OED has the 19th century telegraphy uses? I can’t find it.

And as far as over and out being “invented” by Hollywood, that’s a bit too much. It is not correct radio procedure, but that doesn’t mean that radio operators don’t use it. Hollywood and the media certainly perpetuate it among those who have not been trained in radio procedure, but I don’t think they “invented” it.

Posted: 06 March 2007 08:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2835
Joined  2007-01-31