dominion and control
Posted: 08 July 2008 09:15 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-07-08

I’m an appellate court research attorney.  I write draft opinions and legal memoranda for a state appellate court.  I’m working on an issue involving the phrase “dominion and control,” which appears in a variety of legal contexts.  For example, it’s requently said in appellate opinions that an element of the crime of possession of an illegal drug, is that the accused exercise dominion and control over the substance.
Years ago, I read in a book called “Word Play” by Peter Farb that some phrases (I think “hue and cry” is one) consist of words that mean the same thing, but one is of Norman origin and the other is English.  Such phrases came into use in England when French kings were on the English throne, and were used at the royal court, where there were both French and English speakers.  Or something like that.
Anyway, I’d like to know if dominion and control is one of those phrases.  It would be extremely cool if I could work this into one of my memos, and from there into one of the court’s decision.  Thanks for reading and thinking about this.

Posted: 08 July 2008 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2816
Joined  2007-01-31

’Fraid not.  Both are from French.  In addition, “control” as a noun entered English pretty late (late 16th century) to be part of such a pair, and the sense in question has migrated far from the sense of the verb, which entered earlier: “[a. F. contrôler (16th c. in Littré), earlier contreroller (c 1300 in Anglo-Fr.) ‘to take and keepe a copie of a roll of accounts, to controll, obserue, ouersee, spie faults in’ (Cotgr.), f. F. contrerolle (now contrôle...]...To check or verify, and hence to regulate (payments, receipts, or accounts generally): orig. by comparison with a ‘counter-roll’ or duplicate register....”

Posted: 08 July 2008 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1991