Vermont is the 14th state, the first to join the union after the original thirteen. The state is named after the Green Mountains range, in the French Verts Monts. The name was given to the mountains and the territory east of Lake Champlain by Samuel de Champlain in 1612.

The region was originally French territory, acquired by the British after the French and Indian War (Seven Years War). The territory that is currently Vermont was claimed by both the colonies of New York and New Hampshire and eventually granted to New York by George III. In 1777, Vermont declared itself an independent republic and its militia, the Green Mountain Boys led by Ethan Allen, both fought the British and opposed New York’s claim over the territory. Vermont became a state in 1791.1

1Webster’s Third New International Dictionary, edited by Philip Babcock Gove (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1993), 2544;
Illustrated Dictionary of Place Names, edited by Kelsie B. Harder (New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold Company, 1976), 575.

Powered by ExpressionEngine
Copyright 1997-2019, by David Wilton